The Clash

Strummer, Jones, Simonon, Headon

Images from   The Clash

The Clash were the last gang in town, the greatest rock ‘n’ roll band to come out of the UK riding the new wave of punk into mainstream success. Inducted into the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame in 2004, their place as legends in the history of popular music was signed, sealed, and delivered at a star-studded ceremony.

This book is the first ever official title to be created by the band. It is designed by their designer, written in their own words, and comes with unseen images. It is the only story of The Clash by The Clash. Accept no substitutes.


  • The first official book by The Clash.
  • Brings together unseen material, classic and rare photos, personal memorabilia, and interviews.
  • Published to coincide with the thirtieth anniversary of the first Clash album release in America.
  • Includes exclusive interviews with all four original band members.


  1. Stay Free: Growing up Clash.
  2. White Riot: Punk and 1977.
  3. Give ‘Em Enough Rope: Storming the USA.
  4. London Calling: Clash go Global.
  5. Sandinista: Triple albums, tension, and the message.
  6. Combat Rock: Sackings, stadiums, and strife.
  7. Magnificent 7: That was then...

Author biography

The Clash were Topper Headon, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon, and Joe Strummer. Founded in 1976, they released their first single and self-titled album in 1977, when they became one of UK Punk’s leading lights. Their third album London Calling was voted the greatest album of the 1980s by Rolling Stone magazine. They split in 1983. Their biographical documentary Westway To The World won a Grammy in 2001. They were inducted into the R&R Hall of Fame in 2004. This is their first book.

Click on an image to show a larger version in a slideshow.

The Clash
Publication date
Autumn 2008
288mm × 250mm
Full colour
384 pages
60,000 words
300 images
View pages